It’s Vision. Not market research.

Steve Jobs to Fortune in 2008:

We do no market research. We don’t hire consultants. The only consultants I’ve ever hired in my 10 years is one firm to analyze Gateway’s retail strategy so I would not make some of the same mistakes they made. But we never hire consultants, per se. We just want to make great products.

via Daringfireball

This very morning, I was thinking/writing about how Apple doesn’t do market research or focus groups or design-by-committee. They are driven by vision. I was thinking about it because I wished that Education could operate that way.

And then Daringfireball posts (and links to) the above quote.

One comment

Leave a Reply

