The Ultimate Act of Free Will.

Faith requires… uh, faith. That is, faith does not require evidence. You don’t have to believe in gravity, or colors, or the elements. But some things do require faith precisely because they cannot be proven. This is difficult. Why would anyone want to believe in something that can’t be proven? Why not believe in Santa Claus as well? That is kind of the point. Almost. You don’t have to believe. But you can choose to believe. Which is infinitely more difficult.

What if the ultimate act of free will is to willfully surrender my will? How difficult! My intellect and ego, indeed my body, resist so firmly that it becomes an impossible task. The ultimate act.

What if faith is good, even necessary?

Necessary? For what? Well, for everything. But mainly for relationship with God. And yourself. And others.

But this is not a treatise on faith. This is about the ultimate act of free will. What would happen if I surrendered by intellect to God? What would that look like?

What if I surrendered my will to God? What would that look like? How would I live and talk and move?

One comment

  1. I love reading your thoughtful words; they impart joy. I stop and ponder and am strengthened.

    I like Hebrews, the 11th chapter… not an easy read. It explains: “Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” I often think about that… substance and evidence would stand up in any court of law. And, unlike the state motto, “Show me,” God tells me, “If you believe it, you’ll see it.” Yikes… that requires attending on my part; to prayer, to the Word, to confessing faith. The OT calls faith, trust… a wonderful word; a wonderful thought.
    God bless you abundantly.

Leave a Reply

