Taking Control of Your Life

This will be the topic that dominates my thinking all this year.
This will be the topic I think about all year.
This will be my topic for the year.

What does it mean? What does it look like? How do you do it?

From the clumsy movie, “Wanted”:
“You’re finally in control of your life.”
“I don’t know who I am.”
“I took control.”

That is the premise of the film.

from student journals:
“I fear not having purpose to live.”
“I don’t know what I ache for, but I do think that if wanted something I would do whatever it takes.”

Taking control of your life means being in control of your direction at all times. It means being in control of your thoughts, emotions, actions, reactions, responses, and time.

But which comes first? I would argue that everything follows knowing your direction.

The root is the being in control of the direction you are heading.

So the question–the one and only question–is “How do you find your direction?” Are there prescribed steps? Are there assessments that lead you to it? What experiences help you, or cause you, to find your direction?

The opposite of taking control is conforming… which is a constant pressure from all sides. *That would be a good conflict for a story–we are surrounded and beset on all sides. But we will not fold or surrender.

The question of Literature is: “What will you do when external forces pressure you to conform?”

Michael Phelps and Stanley Kubrick. Their success was not accidental or easy or a matter of course from talent. Their success was only the result of extreme effort.

All of us are working toward our destinies now, and we always have been:

Watch your thoughts, they become your words
Watch your words, they become your actions
Watch your actions, they become your habits
Watch your habits, they become your destiny

My thoughts right now are my destiny. It is hard work. Crazy-hard work. And those that won’t do it will be right where they are now in future.

Leave a Reply

